IPSS Committees

IPSS Committees

The IPSS operates under the leadership of the Executive and Publications Committees. These groups work cohesively with the membership to determine the scientific direction for the IPSS and promote scientific productivity by facilitating research projects. Committee members are subject to rotation on average every 4 years in an effort to maintain a democratic system and provide equal opportunities for participating IPSS investigators.

Executive Committee

Role: The IPSS Executive Committee (EC) is committed to supporting the advancement of pediatric stroke research. They will serve as the primary leadership and governance body for the IPSS and will be responsible for creating opportunities for the development of research and grant submissions.



Scientific Director of the IPSS and Chair of the Executive Committee: Nomazulu Dlamini, Toronto, Canada
Vice-Chair of the Executive Committee and Chair of the Publications Committee: Tim Bernard, Colorado, Denver, USA


Active Executive Committee members:

Mark Mackay, Melbourne, Australia
Kate Lefond, Seattle, USA
Christine Fox, San Francisco, USA
Michael Dowling, Dallas, USA
Founder of the IPSS: Gabrielle deVeber, Toronto, Canada


Emeritus Members of the Executive Committee:

Heather Fullerton, San Francisco, USA
Adam Kirton, Calgary, Canada
Lori Jordan, Nashville, USA
Rebecca Ichord, Philadelphia, USA
Deborah Hirtz, Burlington, USA
Finbar O’Callaghan, London, UK

Publications Committee

Role: The IPSS Publications Committee (PC) enables the timely publication of IPSS research publications that result from the IPSS clinical and imaging datasets, while ensuring the maintenance of ethical standards, primacy of patient privacy and fair distribution of authorship for academic contributions. The PC is responsible for all data requests, uses and publications.


Chair of the Publications Committee: Tim Bernard, Children’s Hospital Colorado, Denver, USA
Vice-Chair of the Publications Committee: Christine Fox, UCSF at Benioff Children’s Hospital, San Francisco, USA


Active Publications Committee members:

Nomazulu Dlamini, The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, Canada
Michael Dowling, UT Southwestern, Dallas, USA
Ryan Felling, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, USA
Lauren Beslow, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, USA
Mubeen Rafay, Children’s Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba, Manitoba, Canada
Michael Noetzel, St. Louis Children’s Hospital and Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, USA


Alternate members of the Publications Committee:

Dimitrios Zafeiriou, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki, Greece
Laura Lehman, Boston Children’s Hospital, Boston, USA